Remembering a War Spring

10 years ago yesterday I just had to get away from the radio news, breathlessly covering the “shock and awe” of Bush’s army entering Iraq.

There was only one thing to do. Draw a breath and draw a flower, or 10.

golfields

My hill was covered in spring wildflowers. warflowers

Studying the forms and colors helped take my mind off what I thought then, and know now, was a pointless, wasteful war–based on lies.pawprintflowers

Identifying the flowers, looking them up by color and shape and rolling their Latin names in my mouth was oddly calming. mapleleaves

Bad things were unfolding overseas, but the velvet nap of pink Maple leaves unfolding was very good.Lucyw:flowers

Lucy was still alive and lay near me, eyes and ears tuned for signs of danger.

poppies

Pinks and oranges starred the grasses.

That war is now supposed to be over. Other wars loom. March is here.

SFview

Time to go draw flowers again.

4 thoughts on “Remembering a War Spring

  1. Kathleen W Smith says:

    When trouble looms large in my life, I go for a walk and commune with the Creator of all the tranquil beauty around me. This is the best therapy I know and it’s never quite the same experience twice. Thanks for sharing your drawings, Ashley.

Leave a Reply

