Homemade Christmas Stockings

When I was born my grandma made me a Christmas stocking.

stocking62cropped

It was probably made from a kit-the elements may have been the same on ALL the stockings made for children that year, but mine has a little, pink angel, a lavishly decorated tree, a white house with a red roof, and a train, trailing tiny seed-bead smoke.

AshStockingred:web

ashleystocking_2web

I think emptying my stocking was my favorite part of Christmas morning. My sister and I always got candy and fruit. In this photo I can see walnuts, cumquats, tangerines, and maybe mini marshmallows.

Peri had her own  Grandma-made stocking but it had a few crucial differences and we spent HOURS comparing and contrasting the stockings. I still think mine is better.

A&Pchristmas3:web

Later I began to ask for sour things: cocktail onions, lemons, pickles and homemade vinaigrette.

Hey, maybe there is something in there now…

A&Pstockingscropped:web

Uh-oh, those look too empty.

Let’s hope they fill up on Christmas Eve!

If you enjoyed this post, please like Ashley Wolff Art on Facebook, visit my webpage here, my Etsy shop, Instagram for plain old gorgeous nature photos, or follow the blog by hitting the “follow blog” button at the top of the sidebar. 

One thought on “Homemade Christmas Stockings

Leave a Reply

