Life with Dogs, and One Child- Part 4: dé·tente

Eventually  we all settled into detente.

Finding a photo from these years with both Pumpkin and Brennan in it is a challenge. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t images.

painting:'88

I painted several that illustrated the tensions between toddler and dog.

redOutfitweb

And just as Pumpkin finally began to adjust to one child around the house, I became pregnant with another.

PaintingMuralweb

This new person was strong and liked to do his tumbling act whenever I needed a steady hand.

farmer'smarket-'90web

By the summer of 1990, we were in the  last weeks and Pumpkin and I were feeling heavy and tired.

WisforWater

Meanwhile, over in Bookland, I was illustrating Isabel Wilner’s A Garden Alphabet. Pumpkin is the gardener and her best buddy is a frog.

hammockweb

That rude frog laughed right along with Brennan when I broke the rope hammock in my 9th month.

Pumpkin-1990web

Knowing what was coming, I made the hard decision to leave Pumpkin at “Camp Stoneledge,” aka my mom’s house, in Vermont. She was 13 now, and touchier around Brennan than ever.

campStoneledgeweb

But with Border Collies Ben (left) and Flora (right) as housemates she thrived and lived another 2 years.

5 thoughts on “Life with Dogs, and One Child- Part 4: dé·tente

Leave a comment