Little Owl Card

Why did this owlet fly into my mind this summer?

Every summer I wait for the right image for my cottage card to occur to me. Often it is obviously related to life here on this serene lake. Sometimes it comes from the Vermont landscape. And sometimes, fantasy sneaks in.

2015_2

This year I began with lots of pigment applied wet on wet to my watercolor paper. Then I divided the sheet into postcard openings, and drew my owlet into each opening.

2015

The different colors behind each owl affected how they came out, making each card even more distinctive, one from another.

2015_3

I make quite a few of these cards and send them to my loved ones.

2015_4

owlfinishweb

I think I’ll keep this little fellow to help warm my new home.

4 thoughts on “Little Owl Card

Leave a Reply

