A Tree of Books

minibooktree_1

I know–Waaaaay too early for Christmas, but that’s when these things get done. And it’s kinda fun making tree decorations on a blustery November day. And, of course, it’s for a good cause!

My fantastically talented and philanthropic neighbor, Warren Kimble, urged me to join him in creating a tree for the Sheldon Museum Christmas benefit, so of course I said yes.

It took me forever to think of a fun way to decorate my very attractive faux tree, but with the deadline looming, I finally made up my mind.

I make books for a living, so why not a Tree of Books?

littlebook_4

I followed the directions for the no sew, no adhesive book and made a whole bunch of these. I did use a glue stick to paste the letter to the  mini books.

I began with plain copy paper for the pages. I’ll show some of my steps, but follow this tutorial for all the details. I found this video tutorial for a more elaborate book too. It uses a little bit of glue.

tools

Fold your pages according to the directions.

mountainfold

Then trim a piece of decorative paper for the book jacket. All it takes is some careful measuring and folding–no glue!

cover_1

I added a contrasting strip of washi tape to the spine.

tape

littlebook_3

Finally I glued a letter from a sheet of decorative alphabet letters to the front cover.

littlebook_2

Once I tied on strings the little books spelled out:

M E R R Y  C H R I S T M A S and H A P P Y  N E W  Y E A R

minibooktree_4

minibooktree_2

5 thoughts on “A Tree of Books

  1. Ashley—A Tree of Books. This is beautiful! Thank you so very much for creating this and sharing with us all. I am going to join you in this tradition. Thanks so much for including the details on how to create the tiny books. I’m thinking I’ll make the kids and my favorites through the years. XOXO

  2. Reblogged this on Dawn Wink: Dewdrops and commented:
    A Tree of Books! What a beautiful tradition Ashley Wolff has created here. I am grateful that she included how to make the tiny books. This will be a new ritual in our family. I think I’ll make the kids’ and my favorite books through the years. Thank you, Ashley!

Leave a Reply

