Painting Fergie’s Portrait


Fergie is a Goldendoodle.

If there is a cuter new “doodle” breed, I can’t imagine it.

She is the fortunate 1st ‘child’ of my beloved cousin, who dotes on her every wiggle and bark.

Now that she has come of age,  I was commissioned to paint her official portrait.

fergie_3

Fergie and her family visited while the leaves were still falling in October.

After exploring the woods thoroughly, she chose this scene for her backdrop.

fergie_7

And I caught her sitting still, however briefly, in the driveway.

fergie_6

To begin this portrait I painted the background landscape before adding the main figure. I am working in gouache and trying to stay loose. A lot gets covered up by the figure, but it still seems to make the whole more cohesive.

fergiebackground

To add the figure of Fergie I did a careful pencil drawing and used simple graphite transfer to position her in the scene.

fergiesketch

Fergiefinishweb

Once Fergie was in place I added lots of shadowing to push the landscape behind her and leaves in the foreground to anchor her on the ground.

fergieface

I paid the most attention to her face, trying to capture the sweetness and life-not to mention her glorious curls!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Painting Fergie’s Portrait

Leave a Reply

