Michelle Forsyth Pin and Paper Project

In conjunction with the Eleanor D. Wilson Museum of Art at Hollins University, I did an art workshop for 7-12 year olds. The museum show is called Papercuts and there is a piece by Michelle Forsyth called February 4, 1999 that really appealed to me. She made it out of paper, watercolor, gouache, screenprint, felt, beads, pins.

flyer

 

To help my students get the idea of pixelating images into abstract patterns, I reduced the size of this chameleon to see if its essential shape and colors could still be discerned. 049_pics

lizardpixelatedI thought it might be fun to try something in her style and medium with children, so we decided to use paper disks and flowers punched from multi colored paint chips, sequins, and pins, pressed into foam core.pinning_1

 

 

 

 

 

pinning_5

pinflowers

pinning_3

pinning_2Every single piece was different and they were all charming and as intriguing as the original inspiration.Sadie_web

 

pinned!_2

 

Adam_web

3 thoughts on “Michelle Forsyth Pin and Paper Project

  1. Hi Ashley, I am the founder of DeafDogsRock.com and I live here in Salem VA. The director of the City of Salem Animal Shelter has written a book in collaboration with me about my deaf dog Nitro. We haven’t had any luck finding a children’s book illustrator. Although I have a degree in fine arts (fashion design and illustration), I feel I need a professional children’s book illustrator. We only have a budget of around $500 and proceeds from the sales of books will go to DeafDogsRock.com where 100% of all proceeds go to saving deaf dogs throughout the U.S. in the way of sponsorship, paying their medical bills and transport costs. If you can help steer me in the right direction on how we can find a good illustrator to Nitro’s children’s book I would really appreciate your help. I can be reached at christina@deafdogsrock.com Any advice you can provide will be helpful. Thank you so much for your time.

    Christina Lee – Deaf Dogs Rock

    Like

    • Dear Christina,

      I’m so sorry I was not on top of the comments on my blog. Sometimes social media can get a bit overwhelming! DeafDogsRock sounds like an outstanding organization. I’ll try to think of something that might help.

      Like

Leave a comment