Making a Fairy Card

Every summer I make many ‘copies’ of one Cottage Card to send to close friends.  I am lucky to have a lot of friends, so I make a LOT of cards.

I usually keep the prototype here in my cabin in Vermont. So far, there are 12 of them. The Fairy Card started like this, but a square image is harder to mail, so it morphed into a rectangle.

fairy13:web

fairyprocess_7:web

I begin with a sheet of watercolor paper, grid it with masking tape and draw the design on each card.

fairyprocess:web

Then I use classic assembly line techniques, pioneered by Henry Ford. Of course, there is a huge difference since I fill all the positions on the assembly line!fairyprocess_1:web

I start adding color, working on all the cards sequentially. No two are alike, but the palette is consistent.

This is a group of brunette fairies.

fairyprocess_2:web

fairyprocess_3:web

And they are all pleased to be bathing in an upturned mushroom cap.

fairyprocess_4:web

And to fly around with rainbow wings.

fairyprocess_6:web

One thought on “Making a Fairy Card

  1. Ashley, this is a great watercolor lesson! Watercolor and printmaking of multiple colors are really so similar in process. My fairy card always greets me on our refrigerator. Thanks for breaking down how you painted the little gem.

Leave a Reply

